Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Tools Search Main Menu

Top University students to be honored at annual Student Life Awards

April 20, 2017

Nineteen individuals and five groups will be honored at the College’s annual Student Life Awards dinner on Friday, April 21.

The formal dinner is hosted by Dean of Students Matthew Burns and begins at 4:30 p.m. in the ballroom of Frederick Douglass Commons.

The awards, also known as “the Rockys,” are divided into Individual Leadership Awards and Student Organization and Programming Awards. Students are nominated by faculty, staff, and peers. This year, almost 300 students were nominated.

All of the winners will receive engraved glass trophies and certificates at Friday’s dinner. Watch the ceremony as it happens at

Here’s a list of this year’s winners. For more information about each award, visit the Rochester Center for Community Leadership’s Student Life Awards webpage.

Individual Leadership Awards

Miles PerryMiles Perry ’20
Andrew Fried Prize
Emmanuel GweameeEmmanuel Gweamee ’20
Delno Sisson Prize
Rachel Goodman Rachel Goodman ’20
Award for Freshman Leadership
Deema Abdo Deema Abdo ’19
Eli and Mildred Sokol Prize
Palak Patel Palak Patel ’17
Campus Contributions
Mahir KhanMahir Khan ’18
Campus Contributions
Elizabeth Beson Elizabeth Beson ‘17
Seth H. and Harriet S. Terry Prize
Xinyi Chen Xinyi Chen ‘17
Percy Dutton Prize
Alex Ballatori Alex Ballatori ’17
Transfer Student Award
Crystal Colon Crystal Colon ’17
Simeon Cheatham Award
Nicholas Mavrelis Nicholas Mavrelis ’17
Rob Rouzer Award for Excellence in Student Government Leadership
Patrick Fink Patrick Fink ‘17
Award for Athletic Leadership
Caprecia Singleton Caprecia Singleton ’17
Presidential Award for Community Service
Tyler Vasquez-DornTyler Vasquez-Dorn ’17
Award for Outstanding Fraternity and Sorority Leadership
Stephen Powell Stephen Powell ’17
Logan R. Hazen Award for Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life
Riva Yeo Riva Yeo ’18
Michael Lowenstein Memorial Award
Ian Manzi Ian Manzi ’18
Communal Principles Award
Carley CampbellCarley Campbell ’17
Linda Muise Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Life
Elizana JosephElizana-Marie Joseph ‘17
Gwen M. Greene First Generation Senior Award

Student Organization and Programming Awards

students with toys made of yarnSociety of Crocheting and Knitting Students
Outstanding Student Organization Award
group of four studentsDiversity in Greek Life Panel
Award for Excellence in Creative Co-sponsorship (Interfraternity Council, Multicultural Greek Council, and Panhellenic Association)
Astronomy ClubAstronomy Club
Award for Excellence in Programming: Earth Hour

Tags: ,

Category: Student Life

Contact Author(s)