University of Rochester

Fourteen High School Teens Present Physics Research

August 16, 2001

Fourteen students from area high schools will present the results of their physics research at the 2001 Summer High School Student Research Symposium, Aug. 29. The symposium concludes the Laboratory for Laser Energetics (LLE) Summer High School Research Program, where students spend eight weeks working on individual research projects supervised by LLE's scientific staff.

The research symposium will be held in LLE's Coliseum at 1:30 p.m. on Aug. 29. Each presentation will last approximately 10 minutes, including time for questions. The symposium will be attended by students' families, teachers, and members of LLE's scientific and technical staff.

This is the 13th year of LLE's program, which is intended to give students opportunities to work in a modern research environment under realistic conditions. The students were selected from approximately 50 applicants. This year's participants are:

David Bowen Greece Arcadia High School

Matthew Fiedler Brighton High School

Melissa Gao Brighton High School

Brian Ha Gates Chili High School

Gabriella Inglis Honeoye Falls-Lima High School

Jennifer Jung Victor Central School

Joshua Keegan The Aquinas Institute

Kevin Monajati Pittsford-Sutherland High School

Christopher Piro Honeoye Falls-Lima High School

Abbey Rhode Brockport High School

Leo Stein Pittsford-Sutherland High School

Uyen Tran Wilson Magnet High School

James Wang McQuaid Jesuit High School

Jeffrey Wilbur Victor Central School

LLE is a major multidisciplinary teaching and research unit of the University and is the only laser facility of its kind at any American college or university. The primary research focus at LLE is the area of laser-driven fusion. The laboratory's principal research tool is Omega, a 60-beam, ultraviolet laser system-the world's most powerful fusion laser. Many scientists from laboratories across the country also carry out experiments on Omega.

To learn more about the program and to obtain directions to the symposium, please contact Jean Steve or Jerilyn Noblett at (716) 275-9517 or Stephen Craxton at (585) 275-5467.