University of Rochester

Convocation Celebrates the Beginning of New College Year

September 5, 2001

This year's Convocation for students in the College of the University of Rochester will take place at noon Friday, Sept. 7, on the River Campus's Dandelion Square.

Convocation signals the start of the academic year and provides the opportunity for students, faculty, and staff to celebrate the beginning of the year together. The ceremony opens with a processional by faculty and administrators in traditional regalia-academic hoods and gowns-and features presentation of the Goergen Awards for contributions to undergraduate education in the College.

The awards, which were first presented in 1997, are named for and sponsored by Robert Goergen '60, chairman of the Board of Trustees, and his wife Pamela.

Recipients of the Goergen Award for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Teaching are:

Curt Cadorette, John Henry Newman Associate Professor of Roman Catholic Studies, Department of Religion and Classics. Cadorette came to the University in 1994 and teaches classes in Catholicism and history of Christianity. He started the "Peru in Depth" program, which introduces students to the political, social, economic, and religious nature of Peru in an intense three-week abroad program. Thomas Hahn, professor, Department of English. Hahn is a specialist in Old and Middle English literature and has taught at the University since 1973. He redesigned the department's introductory survey courses, developed a cluster of courses on Robin Hood and involved students in the first International Robin Hood Conference, which was held at Rochester in 1997, and has created extensive and in-depth Internet sites for his courses. Michael Scott, professor, Department of Computer Science. Scott developed a course in programming language and, as a result of his original approach, published a textbook, Programming Language Pragmatics, that is used in 40 universities worldwide. On the University faculty since 1985, he teaches courses in programming systems and computer systems. John Tarduno, professor and chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences. Tarduno developed courses that offer undergraduates exceptional field work experience studying geology in the Arctic, in California, and in the Adirondacks. Tarduno also offers undergraduates the opportunity to work in his paleomagnetic research laboratory.

The Goergen Award for Curricular Achievement in Undergraduate Education is being presented to the College Writing Program, which provides students, under the instruction of specially trained graduate students, with writing skills for their college careers and subsequent professional lives.

The Goergen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Learning is being presented to Richard Aslin. Aslin is professor in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and in the Center for Visual Science, director of the Center for Language Sciences, and former Dean of the College. He has been at the University since 1984.

The formal ceremonies will be followed by a picnic for students, faculty, and staff of the College. Other afternoon events will include annual Yellowjacket Day activities of carnival rides, novelty booths, and music, and the Activities Fair, which showcases student clubs and organizations.