Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.

Annual ‘Rockys’ honor outstanding student contributions to campus community

April 16, 2019
Close up of a table of awards.(University of Rochester photo / Keith Bullis)

Nineteen individuals and three groups will be honored at the College’s annual Student Life Awards dinner on Thursday, April 18.

The formal dinner is sponsored by the Office of the Dean of Students and hosted by Dean of Students Matthew Burns. It begins at 6:30 pm. in the Feldman Ballroom at Douglass Commons. Watch the ceremony as it happens at

The awards, also known as “the Rockys,” are divided into Individual Leadership Awards and Student Organization and Programming Awards. Students are nominated by faculty, staff, and peers. This year, about 200 students and groups were nominated.

All of the winners will receive engraved glass trophies and certificates at the dinner.

Here’s a list of this year’s winners. For more information about each award, visit the Rochester Center for Community Leadership’s Student Life Awards webpage.

Individual Leadership Awards

Beatriz Gil GonzàlezBeatriz Gil Gonzàlez ’19
Seth H. and Harriet S. Terry Prize
Tara EaganTara Eagan ’20
Michael Lowenstein Memorial Award
Benton GordonBenton Gordon ’19
Linda Muise Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Life
Jamal HoltzJamal Holtz ’20
Rob Rouzer Award for Excellence in Student Government Leadership
Tess Vande CreekTess Vande Creek ’19
Award for Campus Contributions (Senior)
Srihari ChariSrihari Chari ’20
Logan R. Hazen Award for Outstanding Contribution to Residential Life
Andreanna BowersAndreanna Bowers (T5)
Award for Athletic Leadership
Nicholas FotiNicholas Foti ’19
Percy Dutton Prize
Annie ChenAnnie Chen ’22
Award for First Year Leadership
Waliyah JohnsonWaliyah Johnson ’21
Eli and Mildred Sokol Prize
Samy Raudales PinedaSamy Raudales Pineda ’22
Delno Sisson Prize
Andrew ThanksonAndrew Thankson ’22
Andrew Fried Prize
William Jacob SehnertWilliam Jacob Sehnert ’19
Award for Outstanding Fraternity and Sorority Leadership
Mahima JoshiMahima Joshi ’19
Simeon Cheatham Award
Seyvion ScottSeyvion Scott ’19
Gwen M. Greene First Generation Senior Award
Genessis GalindoGenessis Galindo ’20
Award for Campus Contributions (Junior)
Suman KumarSuman Kumar ’19
Presidential Award for Community Service
Julia NorwoodJulia Norwood ’20
Transfer Student Award
Shingirai DhoroShingirai Dhoro ’20
The Communal Principles Award


Student Organization and Programming Awards

American Society of Mechanical EngineersAmerican Society of Mechanical Engineers
Award for Excellence in Programming
Asian-American AllianceAsian-American Alliance
Award for Excellence in Creative Co-Sponsorship
ROC PlayersROC Players
Outstanding Student Organization Award

Tags: ,

Category: Campus Life