University of Rochester

Skip Navigation Bar
Summer-Fall 2001
Vol. 64, No. 1

Review home



Letters to the Editor

Publisher's Note

Rochester in Review

Class Notes

Books & Recordings


Back cover

Alumni Association announcements

Phone BookContact the UniversitySearch/Index
News and Facts
Rochester Review--University of Rochester magazine

Features Next Story
Previous Story


Nicholas Bigelow, professor of physics and director of undergraduate studies for the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was named the Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics. The professorship is named in honor of a former chair of the physics department who also served as dean of arts and sciences at Rochester.

Dante Cicchetti, professor of psychology, psychiatry, and pediatrics, became the first Shirley Cox Kearns Professor of Psychology. The new chair honors the wife of David Kearns '52, a past chairman of the University's Board of Trustees and former CEO of Xerox Corp.


Larry Epstein, professor of economics, became the Elmer B. Milliman Professor of Economics. The professorship was established in 1977 to honor Milliman '19, a former trustee and CEO of the Central Trust Company in Rochester.


William Jones, professor of chemistry and chair of the department, was appointed the Charles Frederick Houghton Professor. Established in 1925 by Houghton's widow, the professorship honors a former vice president of the Corning Glass Works who was active in government affairs in New York State and the State Assembly.


Grzegorz Kolodko, deputy prime minister and minister of finance in Poland from 1994 to 1997, was appointed the John C. Evans Visiting Professor in Polish and European Studies. President of Velmex, Evans '39, '49 (Mas) taught at the University's Institute of Optics for 15 years.

Dianne Morrison-Beedy, professor of nursing, was appointed to a professorship sponsored by the daughters of Ruth Miller Brody '42N and Bernard B. Brody '51M (MD). The Brody professorship was established in 1999.


Shaul Mukamel, professor of chemistry, was appointed to the C. E. Kenneth Mees Professorship. The professorship was established in 1983 in honor of Mees '21 (HNR), who directed the research laboratories at Eastman Kodak Company for more than 40 years. The University's observatory in the Bristol Hills also is named for Mees.


A. William Tank, professor and chair of pharmacology and physiology, became the Paul Stark Professor of Pharmacology. Stark, who received his Ph.D. from the School of Medicine and Dentistry, established the professorship in June of 1994.


Jerold Warner, professor of finance, was appointed the Fred H. Gowen Professor of Business Administration. A former University trustee, Gowen '32 established the professorship to acknowledge study in the social sciences, particularly in the fields of economics, business, and business history.


Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Rochester Review.

Contact the UniversityPhonebookSearch/IndexBack to Home [RUSH RHEES LIBRARY IMAGE]
©Copyright 1999 — 2002 University of Rochester