University of Rochester

Skip Navigation Bar
Summer-Fall 2001
Vol. 64, No. 1

Review home



Letters to the Editor

Publisher's Note

Rochester in Review

Class Notes

Books & Recordings


Back cover

Alumni Association announcements

Phone BookContact the UniversitySearch/Index
News and Facts
Rochester Review--University of Rochester magazine

Features Next Story
Previous Story

Goergen Awards

The fourth annual Goergen Awards for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Teaching were presented to several faculty and University programs during Convocation last September.

Receiving faculty awards were:

Loisa Bennetto, assistant professor of clinical and social sciences in psychology.

Joseph Eberly, Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics, a member of the faculty since 1967.

Kim Kowalke, professor of music in the College and musicology at the Eastman School of Music, who has taught at Rochester since 1986.

The Department of Anthropology and the Department of History received Goergen Awards for Curricular Achievement in Undergraduate Education. The anthropology department was cited for expanding its research-based curriculum for majors. The history department was recognized for enhancing the research experiences of its students and for designing a new undergraduate curriculum.

Ronald Dow, the Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly Dean of River Campus Libraries, received the Goergen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Learning. He was cited for leading a renaissance of Rush Rhees Library to create a student-centered learning environment.

The Goergen Awards are named for and sponsored by Robert Goergen '60, chairman of the University's Board of Trustees, and his wife, Pamela.


Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Rochester Review.

Contact the UniversityPhonebookSearch/IndexBack to Home [RUSH RHEES LIBRARY IMAGE]
©Copyright 1999 — 2002 University of Rochester