University of Rochester

Skip Navigation Bar
Summer-Fall 2001
Vol. 64, No. 1

Review home



Letters to the Editor

Publisher's Note

Rochester in Review

Class Notes

Books & Recordings


Back cover

Alumni Association announcements

Phone BookContact the UniversitySearch/Index
News and Facts
Rochester Review--University of Rochester magazine

Features Next Story
Previous Story

Academic Societies

Several Rochester faculty and researchers were inducted into prestigious academic societies, an honor reserved for the nation's top scholars and scientists.

American Physical Society
Named fellows of the American Physical Society were:

Priscilla Auchincloss, senior lecturer in physics and astronomy and dean for sophmores.

Stephen Craxton, senior scientist at the Laboratory for Laser Energetics.

Stephen Teitel, professor of physics.

John Thomas, professor of mechanical and aerospace sciences and of astronomy.

Ian Walmsley, professor of optics.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Named fellows in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences were:

Elissa Newport, George Eastman Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and chair of the department.

Joanna Scott, Roswell S. Burrows Professor of English.

National Academy of Sciences
Ronald Jones, Xerox Professor of Economics and chair of the economics department, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Also elected to the academy were ReneMillon, professor emeritus of anthropology, and Leonard Mandel, the late Dubridge Professor Emeritus of Physics and Optics. Mandel, who died in February, was elected posthumously.

American Philosophical Society
Seymour Schwartz, Distinguished Alumni Professor of Surgery, was elected to the American Philosophical Society.

Maintained by University Public Relations
Please send your comments and suggestions to:
Rochester Review.

Contact the UniversityPhonebookSearch/IndexBack to Home [RUSH RHEES LIBRARY IMAGE]
©Copyright 1999 — 2002 University of Rochester