Back to Joel Seligman Messages

New Presidential Diversity Awards Announced

To highlight exemplary contributions to the University’s diversity and inclusion efforts, President Joel Seligman has announced the creation of the Presidential Diversity Awards.

“There are many people who have helped foster an environment of inclusion at the University,” President Seligman said. “These awards are intended reward them for their outstanding contributions.”

The awards will recognize faculty, staff, students, units, departments, or teams, who have demonstrated leadership in recruitment and retention efforts, teaching, research, multi-cultural programming, cultural competency, community outreach activities, or other initiatives that promote diversity or inclusion.

Funded by the Presidential Strategic Opportunities Fund, each award will include a $2,500 prize: Individual award winners will receive half and will designate the other half of the prize to support the budget of a program or department of the winner’s choice. Team award winners will designate the entire amount to a program or department of choice. Recipients also will be added to an awards plaque and be featured in University publications.

The Diversity Awards Selection Committee will select a maximum of two award recipients each year. The nomination deadline for this year’s awards is November 16. A nomination form and award criteria can be found on the Human Resources Web site.

President Seligman also expressed his gratitude to the selection committee. The committee members are Vivian Lewis, chair, acting deputy to the president and acting vice provost for faculty development and diversity; Stan Byrd, human resources manager for multicultural affairs and inclusion; Richard Feldman, dean of the College; Mary Dombeck, professor, School of Nursing; Beatriz Folch ’12, School of Medicine and Dentistry (MD program); Donna Brink Fox, associate dean of academic and student affairs, Eastman School; Susan Gibbons, vice provost and Andrew H. and Janet Dayton Neilly Dean of River Campus Libraries; Daniel Pole ’10; Kathy Sweetland, University intercessor and coordinator of disability resources, Maggie Cassie, staff, assistant provost for faculty development and diversity, president’s special projects researcher.