University of Rochester

EVENT: Convocation Honors Goergen Award Winners

September 7, 1999

The University of Rochester will recognize this year's winners of the Goergen Awards for contributions to undergraduate education during its Convocation for students in the College from noon to 2 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 10, on the Eastman Quadrangle.

Recipients of the Goergen Award for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Teaching are:

Daniel Albright, professor, Department of English, and Richard L. Turner Professor in the Humanities. Albright, who is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and National Endowment for the Humanities awards, studies comparative arts-relations among literature, music, visual arts, philosophy, and science. He joined the faculty in 1987.

Naomi Jochnowitz, associate professor, Department of Mathmatics. In addition to other courses, Jochnowitz teaches honors calculus. She has been invited to speak at numerous mathematics conferences sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the Mathematics Science Research Institute and has held fellowships at Harvard and Hebrew Universities. She has taught at the University since 1982.

Jack Kampmeier, professor, Department of Chemistry. Kampmeier has taught organic chemistry at the University since 1960. He was recently honored by the Chemical Manufacturers Association for innovative teaching methods to make science accessible to students. Working with his colleague, Vicki Roth, and his student leaders, Kampmeier has taken the lead in developing the concept of peer-led team-learning in organic chemistry.

Ian Walmsley, professor, The Institute of Optics. Walmsley received his doctorate in optics from the University in 1986 and joined the faculty in 1988. A former National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator, he teaches courses in geometrical optics, quantum optics, laser physics and ultrafast phenomena, and received the 1995 College of Engineering and Applied Science Award for Undergraduate Teaching.

The Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences will receive the Award for Curricular Achievement in Undergraduate Education. The department was cited for its brain and cognitive sciences major and the neuroscience major.

The Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Learning is being presented to Dale McAdam, dean of freshmen and professor of psychology, for his leadership, achievements, and contributions to academic and cocurricular student life; and to the Office of Minority Student Affairs for its leadership in programs benefitting the entire University community.

This year marks the third time the awards have been presented. They are named for and sponsored by Robert Goergen '60, chairman of the Board of Trustees, and his wife, Pamela.