University of Rochester

University of Rochester 145th Commencement Highlights

March 24, 1995


Elizabeth Dole, president of the American Red Cross, will deliver the commencement address at the University of Rochester's 145th commencement. Dole will receive one of the three honorary doctorates to be awarded at the 9 a.m. ceremony on Sunday, May 28, 1995. In addition, an outstanding alumnus will receive the Hutchison Medal.

Commencement ceremonies will be staged outdoors in Fauver Stadium and will proceed even in the event of showers. Contingency plans, in case of a truly dangerous storm, will be announced later. All schools of the University will participate in the May 28 commencement except the William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration. (That commencement will take place June 11 in the Eastman Theatre.)

Degrees to be awarded: Nearly 2,600 bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees

Honorary doctorates to be awarded:

To Elizabeth Dole, the Doctor of Humane Letters degree. As president of the American Red Cross, Dole leads one of the world's largest humanitarian organizations, with 30,000 staff members and more than 1.5 million volunteers. Dole has a long record of public service, starting as director of the White House Office of Consumer Affairs under President Lyndon Johnson. Dole also was a member of the Federal Trade Commission, secretary of Transportation (the first woman to hold that Cabinet post), and secretary of Labor. She has received numerous awards for her achievements, including induction into the Safety and Health Hall of Fame and a Lifetime Achievement Award from Women Executives in State Government. The Gallup Poll named Dole one of the world's 10 most-admired women.

To David Satcher, the Doctor of Science degree. As director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Satcher leads national efforts to protect the public health. He also administers the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. Satcher's background in medical administration is comprehensive, including posts as president of Meharry Medical College in Nashville, and professor and chair of the Department of Community and Family Medicine at Morehouse School of Medicine. He did his residency at Strong Memorial Hospital beginning in 1970 after earning his M.D. and Ph.D. from Case Western Reserve University. As chair of the Council of Graduate Medical Education, Satcher reported on physician staffing and medical education financing to Congress and the secretary of Health and Human Services. Satcher was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 1986.

To Gary Becker, the Doctor of Science degree. Becker, an economist at the University of Chicago since 1970, won the Nobel Prize in Economic Science in 1992. He is recognized for expanding the domain of economics into other disciplines, including sociology, demography, and criminology, to analyze human behavior. Becker applies economic arguments to "real-life" social and public-policy matters, such as family behavior and racial and ethnic discrimination. Among other tributes are numerous honorary degrees and the John Bates Clark Medal, given to an outstanding economist under 40.

The Hutchison Medal:

To Doriot Anthony Dwyer, world-renowned flutist. First awarded in 1977, the medal is the highest honor the University gives its alumni; it recognizes outstanding achievements and notable service to community, state, or nation. In 1952, Dwyer, a descendant of Susan B. Anthony, became the first woman to hold a principal chair in a major American orchestra when she was appointed principal flutist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Since then, she has appeared as soloist with other leading orchestras and with such noted conductors as Leonard Bernstein, Seiji Ozawa, Claud Abbado, and Michael Tilson Thomas. Works for flute an orchestra have been dedicated to Dwyer, including a concer written in her honor when she retired in 1990 to pursue so work. She also has had a fruitful recording career. A 19 graduate of Eastman School of Music, Dwyer has receive numerous citations for her musical accomplishments and has been named to the Women's Hall of Fame.