University of Rochester

Undergraduates Honored for Academics at University of Rochester

December 17, 2004

Eighteen sophomores at the University of Rochester were recognized for their academic achievements for the 2003-04 year and received the Iota Book Award from Phi Beta Kappa, the nationís oldest academic honorary society.

At a ceremony last month hosted by the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering, the students were selected for scholarly achievement, humanistic values, co-curricular activity, and leadership potential. Each student received a copy of Beside the Genesee, a pictorial history of the University.

The students are: Carl C. Adair, Ferhina S. Ali, Annie Laurie Allan, Alexandra L. Bilow, Mallory F. Bucell, Ryan W. Circh, Nicholas D. Gabriele, Alena Janda, Leslianne E. Lavallee, Sandeep Madhur, Amanda M. Michaud, Patrick M. Obrien, Robert F. Penna, Luke C. Scholl, David J. Soson, Brian T. Tuohy, Emily A. Urbanczyk, and Nicholas J. Zappia.

University Board of Trustees Chairman G. Robert Witmer, Jr., gave remarks at the event. Glenn Cerosaletti of the Center for Study Abroad and Interdepartmental Programs of the College is president of the Iota Chapter.