University of Rochester

Undergraduates Honored for Academics by Phi Beta Kappa

November 18, 2005

Nineteen sophomores at the University of Rochester were recognized for their academic achievements for the 2004-05 year and received the Iota Book Award at a ceremony hosted by Phi Beta Kappa and the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering.

The Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest academic honorary society, and the College yesterday congratulated the students for scholarly achievement, humanistic values, co-curricular activity, and leadership potential during their freshman year. Each student received a copy of Beside the Genesee, a pictorial history of the University, and The End of the Soul by Jennifer Michael Hecht, which won the Phi Beta Kappa Society's Emerson Award in 2004.

The students are: Steven T. Cybulski, Trevor Z. DiMarco, Jonathan H. Elkin, Jennifer L. Fichter, Oscar O. Figueredo, Caitlan M. Ganley, David P. Griffin, Julia Gurariy, Lauren Z. Hageman, Eric D. Hansen, Heidi K. Knoblauch, Andrew Lee, James R. Mack, Helen H. Park, Andrew D. Rape, Allison B. Sail, Katie M. Schwertz, Aadhavi Sridharan, and Adam R. Williamson.

Joanna B. Olmsted, Interim Vice Provost and Dean of the College Faculty, offered congratulatory remarks at the event. Glenn Cerosaletti of the Center for Study Abroad and Interdepartmental Programs of the College is president of the Iota Chapter.