University of Rochester

EVENT: University Students Honored As 2009 Iota Book Award Recipients

November 30, 2009

The University of Rochester's Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, along with deans of the College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering, will recognize the 2009 Iota Book Award winners during a formal ceremony on Tuesday, Dec. 1 at 7:00 p.m. in the Welles-Brown Room of Rush Rhees Library. The event is hosted by Phi Beta Kappa's Iota Chapter, the University's oldest honor society, and is open to members of the University community.

Nineteen sophomores, among a class of more than 1,000 students, will be recognized for their scholarly achievement, demonstration of humanistic values, and involvement in co-curricular activities during their first year at Rochester. In addition to evaluating academic records, the award committee collected nominations from professors, administrators, and College staff members.

The recipients of this year's award are Leah Barish (Austin, Texas), Aaron Bentzel (Acworth, Ga.), Julieta Gruszko (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.) , Weiqing Gu (Shenzhen, China), Layla Hatem (Rochester, N.Y.), Chad Hunter (Horseheads, N.Y.) , Neha Jain (Williamsville, N.Y.), Audrey Kelly (Pittsburgh, Pa.), Elizabeth Landzberg (Montvale, N.J.), Mark Levin (Edwardsville, Ill.), Ethan Lobenstine (Brighton, N.Y.), Ceylon Mitchell (Anchorage, Alaska), Maryam Mohammed (Niceville, Fla.), Pauline Muto (Lewiston, N.Y.), Halley Orshan (Millington, N.J.), Matej Penciak (Wichita, Kan.), Emily Redman (Webster, N.Y.), Joseph Shapiro (Redwood City, Calif.), and Noah Wilson (Gridley, Ill.).

"This is an amazing group of students," said Edward Brown, president of the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and assistant professor in the department of biomedical engineering. "Their ability to make major contributions to the campus and the community while achieving the highest level of scholarship is truly inspiring."