Independent Foreign Fiction Prize Shortlist

As covered at Ready Steady Book, the shortlist of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize has just been announced.

Here are your six finalists:

  • Lars Saabye Christensen, The Model (Don Barlett; Norwegian; Arcadia Books)
  • Pawel Huelle, Castorp (Antonia Lloyd-Jones; Polish; Serpent’s Tail)
  • Daniel Kehlmann, Measuring the World (Carol Brown Janeway; German; Quercus)
  • Marlene van Niekerk, The Way of the Women (Michiel Heyns; Afrikaans; Little, Brown)
  • Bengt Ohlsson, Gregorius (Silvester Mazzarella; Swedish; Portobello)
  • Paul Verhaeghen, Omega Minor (the author; Dutch; Dalkey Archive Press)

I wouldn’t be surprised if Christensen or Verhaeghen won, but I have a completely un-scientific feeling that Kehlmann is going to take it this year. (Although I also thought Vila-Matas’s Montano was a lock for the shortlist . . .)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.