Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu

Religious Holidays

The following major Christian, Jewish and Muslim holidays are provided to avoid potential schedule conflicts involving large numbers of students. All students are responsible for negotiating their religious practice needs with their professor(s).

Please Note:

Muslim holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given. Muslim holidays are based on a lunar calendar, and the actual dates are determined by direct observation of the moon and announced by the mosque. (The most observant Muslims will observe all days; others may observe the first two days of Eid-al-Fitr and Eid-al-Ahda.)

Jewish holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given.

Orthodox Christian holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given.

2013-2014

Date Holiday Religion
Tuesday, July 9, 2013 First Day of Ramadan Muslim
Thursday, August 8, 2013 Eid-al-Fitr Muslim
Thurs., Sept. 5 - Fri., Sept. 6, 2013 Rosh Hashanah Jewish
Saturday, September 14, 2013 Yom Kippur Jewish
Thurs., Sept. 19 - Fri. Sept. 20, 2013 Sukkot, first two days Jewish
Thursday, September 26, 2013 Simchat Azteret Jewish
Friday, September 27, 2013 Simchat Torah Jewish
Saturday, Oct. 5 -Sunday, Oct. 13, 2013 Navaratri Hindu
Monday, October 14, 2013 Dussehra Hindu
Tuesday, October 15, 2013 Eid-al-Adha Muslim
Sunday, October 20, 2013 Birth of the Bab Baha'i
Sunday, November 3, 2013 Diwali Hindu
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 Birth of Bahá'u'lláh Baha'i
Thurs., Nov. 28 - Thurs., Dec. 5, 2013 Hanukkah Jewish
Wednesday, December 25, 2013 Christmas Christian
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 Christmas Orthodox Christian
Monday, March 3, 2014 Great Lent Begins Orthodox Christian
Wednesday, March 5, 2014 Ash Wednesday Christian
Sunday, March 16, 2014 Purim Jewish
Tues., April 15 - Wed., April 16, 2014 Passover, first two days Jewish
Friday, April 18, 2014 Good/Holy Friday Christian
Sunday, April 20, 2014 Easter Christian
Sunday, April 20, 2014 Pascha (Easter) Orthodox Christian
Mon., April 21 - Tues., April 22, 2014 Passover, last two days Jewish
Monday, April 21, 2014 Ridvan Baha'i