People

Center Members

People

Govind P. Agrawal
James C. Wyant Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics
Senior Scientist at LLE

Office: Goergen Hall 515
Phone: (585) 275-4846
Email: gpa@optics.rochester.edu
  • Fiber Optics
  • Lasers
  • Optical Communications
Miguel A. Alonso
Associate Professor of Optics
Office: Wilmot Building 213
Phone: (585) 275-7227
Email: alonso@optics.rochester.edu
  • Mathematical Models of Wave Propagation
Badolato, Antonio
Assistant Professor
Office: Bausch & Lomb Hall 158
Phone: (585) 275-4396
Email: badolato@pas.rochester.edu
  • semiconductor nanostructures, particularly zero-dimensional systems such as self-assembled quantum dots
  • fabrication at the nanometer scale
  • photonic materials
  • molecular beam epitaxy
Mishkat Bhattacharya
Assistant Professor of Physics, Rochester Institute of Technology
Office: 3144 CAR
Phone: (585) 475-6151
Email: mxbsps@rit.edu
  • Atomic physics
  • Nanomechanics
  • Superconductivity
Nicholas P. Bigelow
Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics
Professor of Optics

Office: Bausch & Lomb 312
Phone: (585) 275-8549
Email: nbig@lle.rochester.edu
  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Physics
Robert Boyd
Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

Office: Wilmot Building 308
Phone: (585) 275-2329
Email: boyd@optics.rochester.edu
  • Nonlinear Optics
Hanan Dery
Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: CSB 411
Phone: (585) 275-3870
Email: hanan.dery@rochester.edu
  • Semiconductor spin electronics
Joseph H. Eberly
Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics
Professor of Optics

Office: Bausch & Lomb 321
Phone: (585) 275-4576
Email: eberly@pas.rochester.edu
  • Quantum Optics
James R. Fienup
Robert E. Hopkins Professor of Optics
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor in the Center for Visual Science
Senior Scientist at LLE

Office: Wilmot Building 410
Phone: (585) 275-8009
Email: fienup@optics.rochester.edu
  • Image Reconstruction
  • Wave Front Sensing
Ignacio Franco
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Office: Hutchison Hall 419
Phone: (585) 275-8209
Email: franco@chem.rochester.edu
  • Laser control of electronic properties and dynamics
  • Electronic decoherence in molecules
  • Theory and simulation of single-molecule pulling processes
  • Novel spectroscopies and control in single-molecule junctions
Chunlei Guo
Professor of Optics
Office: Wilmot Building 419
Phone: (585) 275-2134
Email: guo@optics.rochester.edu
  • High Intensity Laser-Matter Interactions
  • Ultrafast Phenomena
John Howell
Professor
Office: Bausch & Lomb Hall 310
Phone: (585) 275-0538
Email: howell@pas.rochester.edu
  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Physics
Andrew Jordan
Associate Professor
Office: Bausch & Lomb Hall 317
Phone: (585) 275-2418
Email: jordan@pas.rochester.edu
  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Physics
  • Condensed Matter Physics
Qiang Lin
Assistant Professor of Optics and Electrical and Computer Engineering
Office: Hopeman 342
Phone: (585) 275-3799
Email: qiang.lin@rochester.edu
  • Nanophotonic Devices
  • Physics and Applications
Carlos R. Stroud, Jr.
Professor of Optics
Professor of Physics

Office: Wilmot Building 312
Phone: (585) 275-2598
Email: stroud@optics.rochester.edu
  • Quantum Optics
Nick Vamivakas
Assistant Professor of Quantum Optics & Quantum Physics
Office: Wilmot Building 214
Phone: (585) 275-2089
Email: nick.vamivakas@rochester.edu
  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Physics
Emil Wolf
Wilson Professor of Optical Physics
Professor of Optics

Office: Bausch & Lomb 307A
Phone: (585) 275-4397
Email: ewlupus@pas.rochester.edu
  • Physical Optics
  • Coherence Theory
Xi-Cheng Zhang
M. Parker Givens Professor of Optics
Office: Wilmot Building 113
Phone: (585) 275-0333
Email: Xi-Cheng.Zhang@rochester.edu
  • Photonic Quantum Information Systems
  • Nonlinear Optics
  • Laser Physics
  • TeraHertz Waves