Skip to main content

Services and Events

Religious Holidays

The following major Christian, Jewish and Muslim holidays are provided to avoid potential schedule conflicts involving large numbers of students. All students are responsible for negotiating their religious practice needs with their professor(s).

Please Note:

  • Muslim holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given. Muslim holidays are based on a lunar calendar, and the actual dates are determined by direct observation of the moon and announced by the mosque. (The most observant Muslims will observe all days; others may observe the first two days of Eid-al-Fitr and Eid-al-Ahda.)
  • Jewish holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given.
  • Orthodox Christian holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given.

2017-2018

Date

Holiday

Religion

Saturday, Sept. 2, 2017

Eid al-Adha

Muslim

Thursday, Sept. 21 – 29, 2017

Navaratri

Hindu

Thursday, Sept.21 – 22

Rosh Hashanah

Jewish

Saturday, Sept. 30, 2017

Yom Kippur

Jewish

Thursday, Oct. 5-11, 2017

Sukkot, first two days

Jewish

Thursday, Oct. 12, 2017

Shemini Atzeret

Jewish

Friday, Oct. 13, 2017

Simchat Torah

Jewish

Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017

Diwali

Hindu, Jain, Sikh

Saturday, Oct. 21, 2017

Birth of Bab

Baha’i

Wednesday, Dec. 13 – Wednesday, Dec. 20, 2017

Hanukkah

Jewish

Monday, Dec. 25, 2017

Christmas

Christian

Sunday, Jan. 7, 2018

Christmas

Orthodox Christian

Wednesday, Feb. 14, 2018

Ash Wednesday

Christian

Monday, Feb. 19, 2018

Great Lent Begins

Orthodox Christian

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Purim

Jewish

Friday, March 30, 2018

Good Friday

Christian

Saturday, March 31 – Saturday, April 7, 2018

Passover

Jewish

Sunday, April 1, 2018

Easter

Christian

Sunday, April 8, 2018

Easter (Pascha)

Orthodox Christian

Saturday, April 21 – May 2, 2018

Ridvan

Baha’i

Wednesday, May 16 – Thursday June 14, 2018

Ramadan

Muslim