University of Rochester

Convocation Honors Goergen Award Winners

September 6, 2000

The University of Rochester will recognize this year's winners of the Goergen Awards for contributions to undergraduate education during its Convocation for students in the College at noon on Friday, Sept. 8. The ceremonies will be held on the new Dandelion Square, which links the Robert B. Goergen Athletic Center, Frederick Douglass Building, and Wilson Commons on the River Campus, and will include the dedication of the square.

This year marks the fourth time the awards have been presented. They are named for and sponsored by Robert Goergen '60, chairman of the Board of Trustees, and his wife, Pamela.

Recipients of the Goergen Award for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Teaching are:

Loisa Bennetto, assistant professor, Department of Clinical and Social Sciences in Psychology. Bennetto has established a new educational program on developmental disabilities, including internships in the campus BOCES classroom as well as a seminar and other courses. Students praise her for encouraging them to develop and learn on their own and explore new topics while providing guidance and inspiration; many seek her out as an advisor and a mentor.

Joseph Eberly, Andrew Carnegie Professor of Physics, Department of Physics and Astronomy. Eberly has developed physics courses that introduce freshmen to topics usually reserved for upper-class and graduate-level students, such as aspects of quantum theory, including Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, Schrodinger's cat, and even teleportation. Students, teaching assistants, and parents alike praise Eberly for demystifying and generating enthusiasm for the topics with his clarity, humor, and accessibility.

Kim Kowalke, professor, Department of Music; professor of musicology, Eastman School of Music. A world-renowned expert on composer Kurt Weill, Kowalke has influenced his department's curriculum with his courses in music history and musical theater. Students applaud the way his personal attention draws out their individual talents and strength, both in the classroom and on stage. They praise his passion, encyclopedic knowledge, and commitment to their learning.

The Goergen Award for Curricular Achievement in Undergraduate Education is being presented to the Department of Anthropology and to the Department of History. The Department of History is cited for expanding the research experiences of its students, designing a new undergraduate curriculum, and developing innovative techniques for enhancing undergraduate teaching. The Department of Anthropology is cited for expanding a research-based curriculum for its majors and for designing fieldwork experiences in the Rochester community and abroad, combined with community service, as a unique part of its focus.

The Goergen Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Learning is being presented to Ronald Dow, dean of the River Campus Libraries, for his vision and achievements in leading the renaissance of Rush Rhees Library-not just physically, but in the broader sense of creating a student-centered place that enhances the overall environment for learning on campus.