University of Rochester

Rochester Review
May-June 2009
Vol. 71, No. 5

Review home


Alumni Gazette

In the News

Graduate Elected Fellow

Lee Feinberg ’87, the optical telescope element manager for the James Webb Space Telescope at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, has been elected a fellow of the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers. Feinberg has overseen the development of new technologies for the James Webb Space Telescope, the successor of the Hubble Space Telescope, which is targeted for launch in 2013.

Dental Researcher Honored

Jane Weintraub ’75 is the recipient of the 2009 International Association for Dental Research’s H. Trendly Dean Memorial Award in recognition of her research in epidemiology and public health, particularly children’s oral health. Weintraub is the Lee Hysan Professor and chair of the oral epidemiology and dental public health departments at the University of California at San Fransisco’s School of Dentistry, as well as the director of the university’s Center to Address Disparities in Children’s Oral Health.

Alumni Shine in Marine Band

Several Eastman School alumni had a front row seat on history as the United States Marine Band took its quadrennial place at the presidential inauguration. The ensemble—“The President’s Own,” as Thomas Jefferson nicknamed it—has performed at every inauguration since Jefferson’s in 1801, continuing the string with the 2009 ceremonies for President Barack Obama. Performing in the band were Samantha Angelo ’06E (clarinet), William Bernier ’98E (clarinet), Claudia Chudacoff ’85E, ’87E (MM) (violin), Audrey Cupples ’85E, ’87E (MM) (saxophone), Gina Guhl ’05E (clarinet), Matthew Harding ’96E (cornet), Thomas Maloy ’89E (percussion), Glenn Paulson ’89E (percussion), Steven Searfoss ’86E (percussion), Marcio Botelho ’87E (MM) (cello), Jihoon Chang ’90E (MM) (clarinet), Michael Mergen ’98E (MM) (trumpet), Lauren Miner ’06E (MM) (clarinet), David Murray ’95E (MM) (percussion), and Steven Owen ’01E (DMA) (percussion).