Skip to content

Staff Directory

Staff directory

The Department of Public Safety is made up of nearly 200 team members, whose roles include officers, ID staff, training staff, investigators, and administrative staff. Their top priority is keeping our University community safe.

Use the staff directory below to reach out to key contacts in our office. Visit out Contact page for office phone numbers, locations, and hours. Or use our feedback form to ask a question, raise a concern, or let us know how we’re doing.


Mark Fischer
Chief
(585) 276-5969
Mark.Fischer@dps.rochester.edu


Gerald Pickering
Deputy Chief
(585) 276-7397
Gerald.Pickering@dps.rochester.edu


Christopher Sly
Associate Director – Administration
(585) 275-3437
Christopher.Sly@dps.rochester.edu


Michael Epping
Assistant Director/Commander – Patrol Operations
(585) 275-1087
Michael.Epping@dps.rochester.edu


Lorraine McTarnaghan
Assistant Director – Medical Center Operations
(585) 275-2500
Lorraine.McTarnaghan@dps.rochester.edu


James Newell
Assistant Director/Commander – Investigations
(585) 273-1610
James.Newell@dps.rochester.edu


Dana Perrin
Assistant Director/Commander – River Campus and Eastman School of Music Operations/PIO
(585) 275-5221
Dana.Perrin@dps.rochester.edu


Edward Schiedel
Assistant Director/Commander – Technical Services
(585) 275-3437
Edward.Schiedel@dps.rochester.edu


Cynthia Coates
Captain – Medical Center/Crime Prevention/Workplace Violence/Diversity
(585) 273-5022
Cynthia.Coates@dps.rochester.edu


Joseph Reed
Captain – Student Programs/ Diversity
(585) 273-5018
Joseph.Reed@dps.rochester.edu

Return to the top of the page