Admissions Programs

The Office of Admissions offers students the opportunity to apply for a number of graduate degree programs.  They are:

GEAR (Graduate Engineering At Rochester)

This five-year BS + MS program in engineering and applied sciences allows students to obtain both undergraduate and graduate engineering degrees within five years. The GEAR program provides assurance of admission into one of eight engineering master’s programs at the University’s Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. GEAR students will receive a 50% tuition award in their fifth year of study.

For more information on the program and a sample five-year schedule:
https://enrollment.rochester.edu/admissions/CAPs/GEAR/

GEAR Advising: Kelly Johnson, kelly.johnson@rochester.edu

GRADE (Guaranteed Rochester Accelerated Degree in Education)

A five-year BA/BS + MS program, GRADE is for students interested in becoming educators. GRADE students choose any undergraduate major and are guaranteed admission to the Margaret Warner Graduate School of Education and Human Development with the Steven Harrison Scholarship, equal to one third of tuition, for all five years.

For more information on the program and a sample five-year schedule:
https://enrollment.rochester.edu/admissions/CAPs/GRADE/

GRADE Advising: Sean Hanna, sean.hanna@rochester.edu and
Danielle Ianni, dianni@warner.rochester.edu

REMS (Rochester Early Medical Scholars)

The oldest of our combined programs, this eight-year BA/BS + MD program is designed for the future doctor. Admission to the REMS program is highly selective. Enrollment has been limited to ten students each year since its inception in fall of 1991. Students accepted to REMS are also accepted to the School of Medicine and Dentistry upon completion of the bachelor’s degree.

For more information on the program and a sample eight-year schedule:
http://enrollment.rochester.edu/admissions/specialized/rems.shtm

REMS Advising: Catherine Towsley, catherine.towsley@rochester.edu

DDN (Dual Degree in Nursing)

The Dual Degree in Nursing Program (DDN) at the University of Rochester combines the resources of the College and the School of Nursing. It allows students to combine their interests in nursing with a specific academic discipline offered at the College. These students exemplify diverse, passionate commitments to both areas of study. In their first seven semesters, DDN students pursue a Bachelor of Arts or a Bachelor of Science degree at the College and complete the prerequisites for the School of Nursing. In their final three semesters, students pursue a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. Students will complete both degrees in four-and-a-half years

For more information on the program and a sample ten-semester schedule: 
https://enrollment.rochester.edu/admissions/dd/nursing/

DDN Advising: Jennifer Sherwood, jennifer.sherwood@rochester.edu and Elaine Andolina, elaine.andolina@urmc.rochester.edu

Go back to the Adviser's Handbook Index