Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Skip to content

Special Section

Select Citations

More Special Section

  • Select Citations

    Every academic year, Rochester faculty members earn recognition from their colleagues around the country and the world for their research, scholarship, and teaching, as well as for their service to their disciplines and their students. Here’s a small sample of honorees from the 2014–15 year.

  • U.S. Presidential Awards

    Beth Olivares, dean for diversity initiatives in Arts, Sciences & Engineering, was selected to receive a Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring. And Medical Center neurologist Ray Dorsey (top) and Warner School of Education graduate student Anibal Soler Jr. were honored at the White House as “Champions of Change” for working to improve the lives of the people they serve.

  • American Psychological Association

    Susan McDaniel, the Dr. Laurie Sands Distinguished Professor of Families and Health and associate chair of the Department of Family Medicine, was elected the 2016 president of the American Psychological Association, the largest professional organization representing psychology in the United States.

  • National Women’s Hall of Fame

    Barbara Iglewski, professor emeritus in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, was selected for induction into the National Women’s Hall of Fame, an honor that puts her alongside women’s rights activist Susan B. Anthony, former first lady Betty Ford, and founder of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation Nancy Brinker.

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science

    Research led by Maiken Nedergaard, the Frank P. Smith Professor of Neurosurgery, received one of the top awards from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

  • Grammy Award

    Paul O’Dette, professor of lute at the Eastman School of Music, won a Grammy Award as a conductor for his work on the album Charpentier: La Descente d’Orphée aux enfers, which was named Best Opera Recording at the 57th Annual Grammy Awards this year.

  • Fulbright Awards

    Five students will pursue advanced studies, conduct research, and teach English in host countries around the world after receiving grants from the highly competitive Fulbright international educational exchange program. They were among about 1,900 American university and college students who applied under the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.

  • Music Teachers National Association

    The East End Saxophone Quartet—an Eastman School of Music ensemble featuring graduate students Matthew Amedio, Myles Boothroyd, Timothy Harris, and Jonathan Wintringham—won first prize in the chamber music winds category at the annual conference of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA).

  • National Science Foundation

    Four PhD students received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships, a federally sponsored program that provides up to three years of support for students pursing doctoral or research-based master’s degrees. Of the more than 16,500 applicants, only 2,000 were awarded fellowships.

  • Davis Project for Peace

    A team of Rochester students will undertake a project to explore educational alternatives for children who are forced to work as beggars in Senegal. The effort is part of a highly competitive national program to promote peace, resolve conflicts, and build connections across cultures.