University of Rochester

Class Notes

River Campus Undergraduate: 1990s

Reunion News

College of Arts, Sciences, and Engineering classes celebrating reunions

October 6–8, 2006

Slater Society: All post-50th Reunion Classes
65th Reunion: 1941
60th Reunion: 1946
55th Reunion: 1951
50th Reunion: 1956
45th Reunion: 1961
40th Reunion: 1966
35th Reunion: 1971
30th Reunion: 1976
25th Reunion: 1981
20th Reunion: 1986
15th Reunion: 1991
10th Reunion: 1996
5th Reunion: 2001

More about Meliora Weekend

Eileen McCarthy Cakouros and her husband, Jason, announce the birth of their son, Drew Alexander, on November 2, 2004. He joins his big sister, Anna. They write, “Looking forward to seeing everyone at the reunion.” . . . John Curry is vice president of Fred Alger Management. He is portfolio manager for the fixed-income portion of Alger Balanced Funds, Alger Money Market Fund, and Castle Convertible Fund. . . . Melissa Nagel Wetzler writes, “I gave birth to my son, Wyatt, on May 6, 2004. He joins his two brothers, Gabriel and Tyler. We still live in Boca Raton, Fla. I can’t wait for the 15th reunion—it will be fun!”

Michelle Brissette and Lewis Miller were married on July 31, 2004, in Estes Park, Colo. They live in Denver.

Jeremy Kriegel writes that he was elected partner at Marshall, Gerstein & Borun, a Chicago intellectual property law firm. He lives in Riverwoods, Ill., with his wife, Michelle, and their two children, Kayla and Asher. . . . Lawrence Loh, an associate conductor for the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, was named a finalist for the position of conductor of the Northeastern Pennsylvania Philharmonic. He lives in Dallas with his wife, Jennifer, and their son, Charlie. . . . Eben and Kristin Lewis Norfleet ’96 announce the birth of their son, Preston James, on June 30, 2004. They write, “He is being spoiled by all of his grandparents, aunts, and uncles, especially Aunt Denen Norfleet ’98.” Both Eben and Kristin are practicing law in their respective firms and have built a new home in Oswego, N.Y. . . . Jeff Reznick writes, “I have resigned as executive director of the Orthotic and Prosthetic Assistance Fund to become senior curator for collections at the National Museum of Health and Medicine, a unit of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology.” . . . Reid Thompson was promoted to creative director at Troika Design Group in Hollywood. Previously, he was lead designer.

Lawrence Kleehammer ’94S (MBA) is president of the Pittsford, N.Y., communications firm Buck & Pulleyn. . . . Douglas Nash is a partner at Hiscock & Barclay in Syracuse. Before joining the firm, he was a partner with Hale and Dorr in Boston and a special assistant district attorney in Massachusetts. . . . Nancy Lundy Silberstein and her husband, Eric, announce the birth of their daughter, Alexa, who joins big brothers Zach, 4, and Jake, 2.

Dennis Tucker has been named publisher of Whitman Publishing in Atlanta.

Our apologies to Beth Bamrick Daugherty. A note that appeared under her name in the Spring 2005 issue of Review was not from her and should not have been attributed to her. . . . Julie Katz-Shapiro and her husband, Neil, announce the birth of their daughter, Ellie Jay, on October 1, 2004. . . . Christina Valvo ’98W (MS) writes, “Wade Hellner and I were married on June 26, 2004, in Rochester. We met three years ago on a Bay Area ultimate Frisbee team. We currently live in Sunnyvale, Calif. I have been teaching middle school Spanish for the last five years while Wade, who graduated from Notre Dame, has been working as a software engineer. We are anticipating a move to the D.C. area in the late summer so we can be closer to our family.” Alumni who attended were Jennifer Jones, Adam Besch-Turner ’96, Tom O’Connor, Rosann Konecny Schiller, Doug Schiller, Debra Go ’86, ’92S (MBA), Natasha Besch-Turner ’98, and David Valvo ’90.

Ryan Casazza (see ’98). . . . Celena Evans was promoted to brand manager at Neenah Paper. She lives in Stone Mountain, Ga., with her husband. . . . Kristin Lewis Norfleet (see ’92).

Family law attorney Annette Baker appeared on Fox News Channel’s The O’Reilly Factor. She spoke on the topic of court-ordered guardianships. Annette has a private practice in Beverly, Mass. . . . Jonathan Gerenski and Leah Oliveiri were married on August 21, 2004, in the Interfaith Chapel at the University. Leah is a physical therapist at Agape Physical Therapy, and Jonathan is a physical therapist at Southview Physical Therapy. They live in Rochester. . . . Tom Kenniff, chief legal assistance officer for the 42nd Infantry Division of the National Guard, was deployed to Iraq last December. He writes, “Before being called to active duty, I served as an assistant district attorney in Westchester County, N.Y. I plan to return to the Westchester District Attorney’s Office upon completion of my 12-month tour in Iraq in December. I graduated from Hofstra University Law School in May 2000. I would welcome e-mails from Rochester alumni while I am in Iraq. My e-mail is thomas.kenniff(at)us(dot)army(dot)mil.” . . . Nandini Piparaiya is president and chief operating officer of GlobeOp Financial Services. She spearheaded the opening of GlobeOp’s offices in Mumbai, India, last year. . . . Denise Williams opened the D.M. Williams Funeral Home in Gates, N.Y., last year . . . . Daniel Willkens has joined the law firm Underberg & Kessler as an associate in the litigation department. He and his wife live in Rochester.

Michelle Blumberg and her husband, Len Weiner, announce the birth of their son, Lucas Reid, in July 2004. . . . Jennifer Brand and John Ciafullo were married on May 29, 2004, in Long Valley, N.J. Melissa Motroni, Rosemarie Rutigliano, Vandana Iyer, Stephanie Chiesi, Matthew Reh ’97, Daniel Safin, and Jennifer Parroco attended. . . . Notoya Green has launched the Manhattan laundry service The Laundry Spa. She earned her law degree from Fordham University in 2001 and practiced law briefly before starting her business. . . . Matthew Kilmer married Margaret Jones on September 4, 2004, in Skaneateles, N.Y. Matthew is a financial advisor with Merrill Lynch, and Margaret is an account executive at the marketing communications firm Partners and Napier, both in Rochester. . . . Jonathan Leombrone ’99 (MS) and Danni Schwartzman were married on August 28, 2004, in the Interfaith Chapel at Rochester. Jonathan is a lieutenant in the U.S. Navy, stationed in San Diego, and Danni is a senior accountant at Sola International. Jonathan also is pursuing a master’s degree in business administration at San Diego State University. . . . Denen Norfleet (see ’92) . . . . Joshua Steiner and Laurie Kurtelawicz ’99 were married on June 12, 2004, in Canandaigua, N.Y. Joshua is a vice president at Lehman Brothers in New York City, and Laurie is a pediatric resident at Yale–New Haven Children’s Hospital in Connecticut. . . . Candace Stevens performs with the Pittsburgh-based a cappella group In Acchord, which has released its second CD, Departures. Candace coproduced the CD, which includes two arrangements by Candace and another by Ryan ’96 and Alyssa Daudt Casazza ’99. . . . Katherine Winkler has been hired as legislative director for Rep. Allyson Schwartz of Pennsylvania.

Alyssa Daudt Casazza (see ’98). . . . Beth Cerrito and Craig Holmes were married on July 17, 2004, in the Interfaith Chapel at Rochester. Beth is pursuing a doctorate in clinical psychology at the University, and Craig works at Communicate Wireless. They live in Henrietta, N.Y. . . . John ’99E and Kari Capone Kaefer ’99E write, “We purchased our first home in New Jersey in 2004 and are really enjoying South Orange. John is pursuing a career in film composition and recently joined Dream Artists Studios. I am building my own business as a professional organizer for home and business owners in New Jersey. We are so proud of our 2-year-old son, Andrew!” . . . Laurie Kurtelawicz (see ’98). . . . Catherine Lee and Michael Podolak were married on December 3, 2004, in Las Vegas. They live in Cicero, N.Y. . . . Sondra Rosenberg writes to say that she finished her master’s degree in transportation technology and policy at the University of California at Davis. Sondra planned to move to Reno, Nev., in the spring. She writes, “Feel free to contact me at sondrar(at)gmail(dot)com.”