Skip to main content

Members

Faculty

 
Profile photo

Adams, M.D., Mark

Professor of Imaging Sciences
mark_adams@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-6487
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Political and business aspects of health care; PACS, networking and information systems; Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and MR.

Profile photo

Basu, Ph.D., Asish

Professor of Earth & Environmental Sciences
abasu@earth.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2413
227 Hutchison Hall
Website

Interests: Applying trace elements, major elements and isotopes in studying Earth processes

Profile photo

Bhatt, M.B.B.S., Shweta

Associate Professor of Imaging Sciences
shweta_bhatt@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Profile photo

Buckley, Ph.D., Mark

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
mark.buckley@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4195
321 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Viscoelasticity in soft biological tissues; Soft tissue aging, disease and repair

UR photo

Burns, Ph.D., Stephen

Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Materials Science
stephen.j.burns@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4082
219 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Fracture Mechanics Applied to Grinding, Polishing, Adhesion and Slitting

UR photo

Clark, Jr., Ph.D., Alfred

Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Biomedical Engineering; Mathematics
clark@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4078
329 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Mathematical modeling of epidemics, and the mathematical modeling of infection dynamics in a host

Profile photo

Dalecki, Diane

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical & Computer Engineering; Director, Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound
diane.dalecki@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7378
310 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Biomedical ultrasound, acoustics, lithotripsy, biological effects of ultrasound.

Robert S. Davis, MD

Davis, Robert S.

Professor Emeritus of Urology Department
| (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 656
Website

Interests: Impotence: Peyronie's Disease, penile prosthesis, Infertility: sperm retrieval, varicocelectomy, microsurgery, electroejaculation, Spinal cord injury: neurogenic bladder dysfunction, bladder augmentation and drainage procedures

Profile photo

Di Sant'Agnese, M.D., P. A.

Professor Emeritus of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
| (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 626
Website

Interests: Development of prostate cancer, surgical pathology, application of immunohistochemistry to diagnostic surgical pathology; and the standardization of the reporting of surgical specimens

Profile photo

Dogra, M.D., Vikram

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Urology
vikram_dogra@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Photoacoustic imaging for medical diagnosis, Application of High resolution ultrasound for Bladder tumor detection and follow-up. High intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) for hemostasis.

Profile photo

Doyley, Ph.D., Marvin

Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
m.doyley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3774
343 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Therapeutic and diagnostic imaging using optical, magnetic resonance, and ultrasound imaging

Profile photo

Eichelberger, M.D., James

Associate Professor of Medicine, Cardiology
james_eichelberger@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 341-7700
2400 S. Clinton Ave, Bldg G
Website

Interests: Valvular heart disease, coronary artery disease, noninvasive cardiology (echocardiography, nuclear cardiology), general clinical cardiology

Profile photo

Erturk, M.D., Erdal

Professor of Urology
| (585) 275-8762
2400  S. Clinton Ave, Building H-150

Interests: Kidney stone disease (ESWL-endourology), extracorporeal shockwave lithotripsy, kidney transplant, kidney cancer, hematuria (blood in urine), vasectomy, laparoscopy, minimally invasive surgery

Profile photo

Feldon, M.D., M.B.A., Steven

Professor of Ophthalmology; Center for Visual Science; Neurology
steven_feldon@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-3937
210 Crittenden Blvd.
Website

Interests: Thyroid-associated eye disease. Cranial nerve palsies, disorders of the optic nerve, visual field loss, and eye movement problems

Profile photo

Foster, Ph.D., Thomas

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Physics & Astronomy; Institute of Optics
thomas_foster@urmc.rochester.edu
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Photodynamic Therapy of Cancer and Microbial Infections

Profile photo

Francis, M.D., Charles

Professor Emeritus of Medicine, Hematology/Oncology
charles_francis@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 610
Website

Interests: Interaction of angiographic factors with fibrin(ogen); vascular effects of low intensity ultrasound; diagnosis of hypercoagulability

Photo unavailable

Frank, M.D., Irwin

Professor Emeritus of Urology
Meliora Hall
Website

Profile photo

Gracewski, Ph.D., Sheryl

Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Biomedical Engineering
sheryl.gracewski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7853
217 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: General area of solid mechanics, more specifically in wave propagation and vibrations in elastic media

Profile photo

Helguera, Ph.D., Maria

Associate Professor of Biomedical and Materials Multimodal Imaging Lab
helguera@cis.rit.edu | (585) 475-7053
2100 CAR, RIT
Website

Interests: Medical imaging system characterization

Profile photo

Hesford, Ph.D., Andrew

Assistant Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
hesford@ece.rochester.edu
Meliora Hall
Website

Interests: Fast algorithms in acoustic and electromagnetic scattering and imaging

Profile photo

Hocking, Ph.D., Denise

Associate Professor of Pharmacology and Physiology; Biomedical Engineering
denise_hocking@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1770
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 711
Website

Interests: Regulation of cell behavior by the extracellular matrix

Profile photo

Joseph, M.D., M.B.A., Jean

Professor of Urology; Cancer Center
jean_joseph@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
2400 S. Clinton Ave, Building H, Suite 150
Website

Interests: Laparoscopic/minimally invasive urology (prostatectomy, nephrectomy), reconstructive urology, hematuria, genitourinary cancers, kidney stones, benign prostatic hypertrophy (BPH), urethral strictures, vasectomy, vasectomy reversal

Profile photo

Kennedy, Ph.D., Scott

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
scott_kennedy@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7585
601 Elmwood Ave Box 712
Website

Interests: NMR imaging and spectroscopy; Tumor biology; RNA structure determination; anion transport

Profile photo

Klionsky, M.D., Nina

Associate Professor of Imaging Sciences
nina_klionsky@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1971
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Diagnostic and Pediatric Radiology

Profile photo

Lerner, M.D., Robert

Associate Professor of Radiology
Rochester General Hospital
Website

Interests: Routine diagnostic ultrasound, special innovative applications of ultrasound, minimally invasive ultrasound-guided procedures, vascular ultrasound

Profile photo

Lerner, Ph.D., Amy

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Mechanical Engineering
amy.lerner@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7847
307 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Orthopaedic biomechanics, bone growth and development, cartilage mechanics, medical image-based finite element modeling, knee biomechanics

Profile photo

Linte, Ph.D., Cristian

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, RIT
clinte@mail.rit.edu | 4926 (585) 475-
3111 Institute Hall (Bldg. 73)
Website

Interests: Image acquisition, surgical tracking, visualization and display; Image analysis, modeling, evaluation and validation; Image guidance and modeling technologies for minimally invasive catheter-guided ablation therapy for atrial fibrillation

Profile photo

McAleavey, Ph.D., Stephen

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Electrical & Computer Engineering
stephen.mcaleavey@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7768
309 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Development of Novel, Clinically Applicable Ultrasound Imaging Techniques

Profile photo

Miller, M.D., Richard

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Environmental Medicine; Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
richardk_miller@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3638
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 668
Website

Interests: Reproductive and perinatal toxicology, Normal development of the embryo/fetus

Profile photo

Miller, Ph.D., Morton

Professor Emeritus of Obstetrics and Gynecology
morton_miller@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3634
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 668
Website

Interests: In vitro mammalian cell culture techniques (monolayer, suspension, multicell spheroids), chick embryo, human eye (in vivo) e-field exposure

UR photo

Mottley, Ph.D., Jack

Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
mottley@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4308
306 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: The development of realistic models of the interaction of ultrasound with inhomogeneous media and to construct measurement systems based on quantifiable ultrasonic parameters

Profile photo

O'Brien, M.D., Jeanne

Associate Professor of Urology
jeanne_obrien@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
2400 S. Clinton Ave, Building H-150
Website

Interests: Male infertility, microsurgery, varicoceles and general Urology

Profile photo

Ozcan, M.D., Tulin

Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
tulin_ozcan@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 487-3352
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 668
Website

Interests: Maternal Fetal Medicine

Profile photo

Parker, Ph.D., Kevin

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Radiology; Biomedical Engineering; RCBU Director from 1990-2006
parker@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3294
203 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Medical imaging, digital imaging, halftoning, and novel scanning techniques using Doppler shift effects

Profile photo

Pentland, M.D., Alice

Professor of Dermatology
alice_pentland@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7546
400 Red Creek, Suite 200
Website

Interests: Phospholipases and cyclooxygenases in epidermal function and their role in carcinogenesis and cell differentiation, digital imaging and virtual reality for dermatology

Profile photo

Perucchio, Ph.D., Renato

Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Biomedical Engineering
rlp@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4069
415 Hopeman Hall
Website

Interests: Computational solid and structural mechanics and in the development of engineering practices in Classical Antiquity

Profile photo

Phillips, Ph.D., Daniel

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
dbpeee@rit.edu | (585) 475-2309
RIT
Website

Interests: Embedded systems, Biomedical instrumentation and signal processing, Assistive device technology, Human physiology, Advanced applied math techniques

Profile photo

Pressman, M.D., Eva

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
eva_pressman@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 487-3350
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 668
Website

Interests: Medical complications of pregnancy

Profile photo

Rao, Ph.D., Navalgund

Professor of Imaging Sciences
rao@cis.rit.edu | (585) 475-7183
2136 CAR, RIT
Website

Interests: Medical Imaging and Signal Processing

RICH

Richards, Ph.D., Michael

Research Assistant Professor
michael.richards@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4662
601 Elmwood Ave, Box SURG

Interests: The development, validation and implementation of elasticity imaging, or elastography, for diagnosing vascular diseases

Profile photo

Rubens, M.D., Deborah

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Associate Director, Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound
deborah_rubens@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8365
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Ultrasound sonoelasticity; 3-dimensional imaging; contrast agents

Profile photo

Schwarz, M.D., Karl

Professor of Medicine, Cardiology; Anesthesiology
karl_schwarz@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8218
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 679
Website

Interests: Echocardiography

Profile photo

Shapiro, M.D., Janine

Professor of Anesthesiology
janine_shapiro@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2141
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 604
Website

Interests: Myocardial Contrast Echocardiography

Profile photo

Stern, M.D., David

Associate Professor of Ansthesiology
david_stern@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2141
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 604
Website

Interests: The effect of venodilation-based constant preload volume loading on hemodynamic variability in surgical patients. Crisis Management and Team Training for hospital-based resuscitation.Mechanism of radial arterial pressure changes following cardiopulmonary bypass.

Profile photo

Strang, M.D., John

Professor of Imaging Sciences
john_strang@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Diagnostic Radiology

Profile photo

Svengsouk, M.D., M.B.A., Jefferson

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
jefferson.svengsouk@rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 655
Website

Interests: Emergency Ultrasound

UR photo

Thiele, M.D., Ralf

Associate Professor of Medicine, Allergy/Immunology and Rheumatology
ralf_thiele@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 486-0901
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 695
Website

Profile photo

Voci, M.D., Susan

Diagnostic Radiology - American Board of Radiology
susan_voci@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-0847
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Diagnostic Radiology

Profile photo

Waag, Ph.D., Robert

Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
waag@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3497
3-4309 Med Center
Website

Interests: The general objective of our work is the development of ultrasonic techniques that improve the utility of ultrasound as a diagnostic tool in medicine.

UR photo

Waugh, Ph.D., Richard

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Biochemistry & Biophysics; Pharmacology & Physiology
waugh@bme.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3768
210 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Cell Adhesion, Mechanical and thermodynamic properties of biological membranes; cellular mechanics and function of cytoskeletal proteins

Profile photo

Weinberg, M.D., Eric

Associate Professor of Imaging Sciences
eric_weinberg@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8762
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Diagnostic Radiology

Profile photo

Wojtczak, M.D., Ph.D., Jacek

Professor of Anesthesiology
jack_wojtczak@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2141
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 604
Website

Interests: Ambulatory and Regional Anesthesia

Profile photo

Woods, M.D., James

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
james_woods@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 271-7800
2255 Clinton Avenue South
Website

Interests: Pregnancy loss, Oxidant stress, fetal heart rate monitoring.

UR photo

Zhong, Ph.D., Jianhui

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Biomedical Engineering; Physics & Astronomy
jianhui.zhong@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4518
601 Elmwood Ave, Box 648
Website

Interests: Development and medical application of magnetic resonance imaging