Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Tools Search Main Menu


Standing committees of the Faculty Senate for the 2020 – 2021 academic year:

Academic Affairs Committee

Academic Affairs Committee Charge
NameSchool / Office Department / AffiliationTerm Expires
Zachary BernsteinESMMusic TheoryDec 2022
Amy Lerner (SEC Liaison)AS&EBiomedical Engineeringex officio
Anne LuebkeHajimBiomedical EngineeringDec 2022
April Luehmann (Chair)WarnerTeaching & CurriculumDec 2023
Erika RamsdaleSMDHematology/Oncology Dec 2021
Joan SaabCentral AdministrationVice Provost for Academic Affairsex officio
Karen SteinSONNursingDec 2021
Laurie SteinerSMDPediatricsDec 2023
Melissa Sturge-AppleCentral AdministrationUniversity Dean of Graduate Studiesex officio

Benefits Committee

Faculty Benefits Committee Charge

NameSchoolDepartmentTerm Expires
Szilvia AranySMDDentistryDec 2022
Lisa BrophySONNursingDec 2022
Mary CareySONNursingDec 2022
Linda Chaudron SMDPsychiatryDec 2023
Eldred Chimowitz (Chair)Hajim Chemical EngineeringDec 2021
Melissa Kreso (SEC Liaison)SMDMedicineex officio
Jack MottleyHajimElectrical & Computer EngineeringDec 2023
Anil Pisharoty SMDAnesthesiology & Perioperative MedicineDec 2021

Budget Committee

Faculty Budget Committee Charge

NameSchool / OfficeDepartment / AffiliationTerm Expires
Jean Bidlack
(SEC liaison)
SMDPharmacology & Physiologyex officio
Margaret CarnoSONNursingDec 2023
Rob ClarkCentral AdministrationProvost and Sr. VP for Researchex officio
Holly CrawfordCentral AdministrationSr. VP for Administration & Finance and CFOex officio
Michael DaleyWarnerProfessional Development & Education ReformDec 2022
Danielle Lindenmuth (Chair)SMDAnesthesiology & Perioperative MedicineDec 2022
Open seatHajim
Randall StoneSASPolitical ScienceDec 2022
Dariusz TerefenkoESMJazz Studies & Contemporary MediaDec 2021
Vera Tilson SimonBusiness AdministrationDec 2021

Committee on Elections

NameSchoolDepartmentTerm Expires
Lisa BrophySONNursingDec 2022
Harry Groenevelt (SEC Liaison)SimonGrad Facultyex officio
Dustin HannumSASWriting, Speaking, ArgumentDec 2023
Kevin MeuwissenWarnerEducationDec 2023

Ethical Investment Advisory Committee

[Faculty representatives only]

Ethical Investment Advisory Committee Charge

NameSchoolDepartmentTerm Expires
Karen BergerSASEarth and Environmental Sciences
Dec 2023
Randall CurrenSASPhilosophyDec 2022
Robert FosterSASAnthropologyDec 2020
Randall StoneSASPolitical ScienceDec 2022

Research Policy Committee

Link to page with resources and opportunity for direct messaging (feedback)

NameSchool / OfficeDepartment / AffiliationTerm Expires
Dirk BohmannSMDProfessor, Biomedical Geneticsex officio
Paul BrookesSMDAnesthesiology & Perioperative MedicineDec 2022
Rob ClarkCentral AdministrationProvost and Sr. VP for Researchex officio
Kara Finnigan (Co-Chair)WarnerEducational LeadershipDec 2022
Sue GrothSONNursingDec 2023
Orit HilewiczESMTheory DepartmentDec 2021
Valentina Kutyifa (Chair)SMDMedicineDec 2021
Gunta LidersORPAAssociate VP for Research and Project Administrationex officio
Kevin McFarland (SEC Liaison)SASPhysics & AstronomyDec 2022
Liz MilavecFinanceAssociate VP for Financial Operations and University Controllerex officio
Sally NortonSONAssociate Dean for Research, SONex officio
Erika RamsdaleSMDHematology/OncologyDec 2021
John TardunoAS&EDean for Researchex officio
Rick WaughCentral AdministrationVice Provost for Researchex officio

University Committee on Tenure and Privileges

See Faculty Senate Charter for the charge of the University Committee on Tenure and Privileges.

NameSchoolDepartment Term Expires
Jean Bidlack (Chair)SMDPharmacology & Physiology2023
James BrickleySimonBusiness Administration2023
Rachel HaiduSASArt History2023
Jayne Lammers WarnerEducation2023
Jane Liesveld (Secretary, until 2021)SMDHematology/Oncology2022
William MarvinESMMusic Theory2022
Susan McDanielSMDPsychiatry2021
Kevin McFarland SASPhysics & Astronomy2021
Karen SteinSONNursing2022

Faculty Representatives on Board of Trustees’ Committees

Board CommitteeName of Faculty RepresentativeSchoolDepartmentTerm Expires
Academic AffairsApril LuehmannWarnerTeaching & CurriculumMay 2023
Academic AffairsAmy LernerASEBiomedical EngineeringMay 2023
AdvancementTom GibsonASEAnthropologyMay 2023
FacilitiesVera TilsonSimonBusiness AdministrationMay 2023
Health AffairsMary CareySONNursingMay 2023
Health AffairsTelva OlivaresSMDMedicineMay 2023
Human ResourcesEldred ChimowitzHajimChemical EngineeringMay 2023
Research & InnovationValentina KutyifaSMDCardiologyMay 2023
Strategic & Financial PlanningDanielle LindenmuthSMDAnesthesiology & Perioperative MedicineMay 2023
Student LifeGerald GammASEPolitical ScienceMay 2023

Ad hoc committees of the Faculty Senate currently active:

Faculty Salary Reduction Advisory Committee

Zach BernsteinEastmanMusic Theory
Mary Jane CurryWarnerTeaching & Curriculum
Gerald GammASEPolitical Science
Tom GibsonASEAnthropology
Lisa KahnASEEconomics
Danielle LindenmuthSMDAnesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine
Kevin McFarlandASEPhysics & Astronomy
Gary MorrowSMDSurgery
Robert Novy-MarxSimonBusiness Administration


This page last revised: February 3, 2021