Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Skip to content

Back Cover

Honoring Inclusion2020 Presidential Diversity Award Recipients Recognized
photograph of recipients of the presidential diversity awardCOMMITMENT & COMMUNITY: Caroline Nestro ’18W (PhD), a senior associate in the Department of Psychiatry (second from left), and Kit Miller, director of the MK Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence (second from right), received the 2020 Presidential Diversity Award at a reception in January. Presented to faculty, staff, students, units, departments, or teams, the annual award recognizes “commitment to diversity and inclusion through recruitment and retention efforts, teaching, research, multicultural programming, cultural competency, community outreach activities, or other initiatives.” Nestro and Miller were joined by their nominators for the award, Telva Olivares, a professor of clinical psychiatry (left), and Jessica Guzman-Rea, the director of the Paul J. Burgett Intercultural Center (right). Photograph by Matt Wittmeyer for the University of Rochester