Skip to main content

Elected Officials

Whether you were raised right here in the City or thousands of miles away, Rochester is your home for the next four years - and hopefully beyond! It is important to know your elected officials and how their decisions impact your life here. If there is a local, national or international issue that you feel strongly about, you should reach out directly to the appropriate representative. Use the links below to learn about and contact your representatives.

City of Rochester Officials

Mayor's Office: The Mayor’s Office represents the head of the executive / administrative branch of City Government.  The Mayor is responsible for the administration of all City affairs, including approving local laws and ordinances; enforcing laws; and appointing department heads and members of certain boards and commissions.  All City operations are overseen by the Office through the direct supervision of the Mayor and appointed senior staff.

City Council: The Council sets fiscal policies and approves all spending for the City of Rochester. They are also responsible for the regulation of land use, including the creation and amendment of zoning laws. While most of the proposed laws which come before Council are referred by the Administration, Council may also initiate legislation itself. Council members will often propose new programs at the suggestion of city residents.

Rochester City School Board: The Rochester Board of Education is a seven-member board elected by the citizens of Rochester to direct and oversee the operations of the school district. Board Commissioners serve four-year terms.

Monroe County Officials

County Executive

County Legislature

County Clerk

District Attorney

New York State Legislature

137th Assembly District

56th Senate District

For general information on the branches of government in New York State, check out the New York State Senate's website.

United States Congress

25th Congressional District

U.S. Senators for the State of New York