Phi Beta Kappa

Joseph P. O’Hern Scholarships

For Travel and Study in Europe

The Joseph P. O’Hern Scholarship for Travel and Study in Europe, endowed by Joseph P. O’Hern of the Class of 1892, is awarded to one or more graduates each year who have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa and wish to prepare for a career in teaching. It is awarded for up to one year only, and is open to any member of the graduating class who has been elected to Phi Beta Kappa.

Graduating seniors are notified of this opportunity in time for them to apply. Normally, proposals include, in as much detail as possible, the academic plans that would be pursued if given the award, and where in Europe or the British Isles those plans would be carried out. Students also discuss the way in which teaching is involved in their career plans and include an anticipated budget.

In the recent past, anywhere from two to eight graduates per year have been enabled to travel and study in Europe through O’Hern scholarships ranging from $3,000 to more than $15,000.

Past O’Hern Recipients

2014 Amanda Chen 
Anjalene Whittier
2013 Annalise Baird
Meredith Doubleday
Paige Hammond
Katherine Pieper
Kristen Scherb
Stevan Veljkovic
Sarah Walters
Sarah Young
2012 Trevor Baisden
Leah Barish
Sebastian Bezerra
Maya Dukmasova
James Eles
Louisa Gag
Carley Parsons
2011 Ellie Rose Adair
Meaghan DeWaters
Karen Martuscello
Jenna Miller
Andrew Otis
2010 Kim Etingoff
Elizabeth Gabster
Anita Hargrave
Trevor Kellogg
2009 Kristin Beck
Sara Goico
Kelly Grossman
Lee Reis
2008 Natalie Lupiani
Joseph Stadolnik
Christine Kenison
2007 Robert Penna
Alexandra Bilow
Matthew Bonyak
2006 Andrew Schloss
Nils Klinkenberg
Julie Stoltman
Will Fassett
Jason Strudler
2005 Janet Wightman
Anna Lessenger
Michael New
William Hildebrandt
2004 William Leidy
Nathan Smith
Rebecca Hart
Sara Korol
2003 Emily Faber
James Paulino
Lindsey Wood
2002 Jennifer Hoberer
Amy Novak
2001 Benjamin Drew
Dustin Tingley
Benjamin Hindes
2000 Susan Damaske
Fernando Arana
1999 A. Murthy
Nicole Garcia
1998 Joseph Tamer
Melissa Reiser

Comments and questions are welcome.