Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu
Office of the Provost

Student Learning Assessment

The University of Rochester’s student learning assessment program is school-based and faculty-driven, with central coordination to ensure that the schools’ efforts are supported, documented, and shared University-wide.

Assessment Liaisons appointed by their school deans champion the process, working with faculty to develop methodologies that substantiate outcomes and guide improvement of the teaching and learning environment. Assessment data and curriculum revisions are shared with the Office of the Provost and employed to satisfy regional and specialized accreditation requirements. Faculty members with questions about assessing learning are encouraged to contact their school’s Assessment Liaison.

Individual Schools' Assessment Websites

Resources


Student Learning Assessment Liaisons for 2013-2014

Arts, Sciences and Engineering
Barbara Masi, Director of Education Innovation and Assessment Initiatives
barbara.masi@rochester.edu

Eastman School of Music
John Hain, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs and Director of Assessment
jhain@esm.rochester.edu

Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Jim Zavislan, Associate Dean, Education and New Initiatives
james.zavislan@rochester.edu

Office of Graduate Studies
Vice Provost and University Dean of Graduate Studies
margaret.kearney@rochester.edu

School of Medicine and Dentistry -- Graduate Education
Linda Lipani, Graduate Registrar and Director of Services
linda_lipani@urmc.rochester.edu

School of Medicine and Dentistry -- Medical Education
Steve Lurie, Associate Professor of Family Medicine and Director of Assessment
stephen_lurie@urmc.rochester.edu

School of Nursing
Bethel Powers, Professor and Director of Evaluation Office and the PhD Program
bethel_powers@urmc.rochester.edu

Simon Business School
Larry Matteson, Executive Professor of Business Administration
larry.matteson@simon.rochester.edu

Warner School of Education
Logan Hazen, Assistant Professor (Clinical) of Educational Leadership
lhazen@warner.rochester.edu