Skip to content

Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

The Edward Peck Curtis Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

This award recognizes a record of distinguished undergraduate teaching, typically developed over at least eight years. Recipients also have demonstrated readiness to help less experienced faculty colleagues or teaching assistants master their craft.

Winners of the Edward Peck Curtis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are honored with a citation at commencement, and also receive a monetary award.

If you have questions about the award, please contact our office.


Past recipients

Explore the table below for a full list of previous Edward Peck Curtis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching winners.

Year Recipient Department
2023 George Ferguson Computer Science
2023 Dragony Fu Biology
2023 Paul Shanahan Simon Business School
2022 Christopher Azzara ESM – Music Teaching and Learning
2022 Joel Burgess AS&E – English and Film and Media Studies and Digital Media Studies
2022 Roy Jones Simon Business School
2022 Stefanie Sydelnik AS&E – Writing, Speaking, and Argument Program
2021 Reinhild Steingrover ESM Humanities
2021 Stewart Weaver History
2020 Patrick Hopkins Nursing
2019 Vincent Hope Simon Business School
2019 Chris Muir Mechanical Engineering
2019 Heidi Tribunella Simon Business School
2019 Stella Wang AS&E- Writing, Speaking, and Argument Program
2018 David M. Primo Political Science and Business Administration
2017 Seth Monahan ESM – Music Theory
2017 Kara Bren Chemistry
2017 Thomas Eickbush Biology
2016 Andrew Berger The Institute of Optics
2015 William FitzPatrick Philosophy
2014 William Marvin ESM – Music Theory
2013 Miguel A. Alonso  The Institute of Optics
2012 Lane Hemaspaandra Computer Science
2011 Jonathan Baldo ESM Humanities
2010 [not awarded]  
2009 William D. Jones Chemistry
2008 Thomas R. Krugh Chemistry
2007 John Tarduno Physics, and Earth & Environmental Sciences
2006 Joseph P. Dinnocenzo Chemistry
2005 Jack Mottley Electrical & Computer Engineering
2004 Zvi Zeitlin ESM – Violin
2003 John Beck ESM – Percussion
2002 Rita D’Aoust Nursing
2001 Robert Holmes Philosophy
2000 John Givens Modern Languages & Cultures
1999 John C. Lambropoulos Mechanical Engineering
1998 Dale McAdam Psychology
1997 John Mueller Political Science
1996 Thomas Hahn English
1995 Celia Applegate History
1994 Martin R. Feinberg Chemical Engineering
1993 Richard Ryan Psychology
1992 Carlton Brett Geological Sciences
1991 Ashok Das Physics
1990 Richard Kaeuper History
1989 Jan DeGaetani Music-Voice
1988 William Riker Political Science
1987 Alfred Clark, Jr. Mechanical Engineering
1986 Gerald Bond Foreign Languages
1985 James Farrar Chemistry
1984 Abram Loft Music
1983 Robert Angerer Biology
1982 David C. Farden Electrical Engineering
1981 Fitz J. P. Poole Anthropology
1980 Jesse T. Moore History
1979 Peter Regenstreif Political Science
1978 JoAnn Belle-Isle (Clinical Nurse Specialist) Nursing
1977 George Metakides Mathematics
1976 Harmon Holcomb Philosophy
1975 Barry Snyder Music
1974 Jack Kampmeier Chemistry
1973 H. Searl Dunn Engineering
1972 Russell Peck English
1971 Catherine Sullivan Education
1970 Sherman Hawkins English
1969 Herbert Voelcker Engineering
1968 Emory Remington Music
1967 Marshall D. Gates Chemistry
1966 Arnold W. Ravin Biology
1965 Cecile S. Genhart Music
1964 James Kaufmann English-History
1963 Edwin O. Wiig Chemistry
1962 Lewis W. Beck Philosophy


Return to the top of the page