Skip to content

New Employee Orientation

We're excited you're joining our team.

Welcome to the University of Rochester

We are a diverse community in which all who work, teach, create, and provide care are welcome and respected. We are honored that you have chosen to join our team.

The University of Rochester is committed to the safety and well-being of our students, faculty, staff, patients, and community. Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we are limiting large in-person classes, so we will not be holding New Employee Orientation at this time. Instead, you will complete an online organizational orientation in your department.

 

New employee orientation

On your designated start date, you will report directly to your department, with the exception of Nursing Practice staff who will receive orientation instructions from HR or the Center for Nursing Professional Development at (585) 273-4270.

Prior to your start date, we ask that you complete the following tasks:

  • Confirm your start time and location with your manager
  • Review information sent from your HR liaison including maps & temporary parking locations
  • Review the new employee checklist to guide your orientation tasks

If you have any questions, contact your HR Employment Service Center Liaison.

New employee orientation schedule

The chart below details the weekly list of New Employee Orientation dates for 2021.

Day of week
Date Additional orientation groups
Monday January 4, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday January 11, 2021 Union Week
Tuesday (due to a holiday) January 19, 2021
Monday January 25, 2021 Union Week
Monday February 1, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday February 8, 2021 Union Week
Monday February 15, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday February 22, 2021 Union Week
Monday March 1, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday March 8, 2021 Union Week
Monday March 15, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday March 22, 2021 Union Week
Monday March 29, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday April 5, 2021
Monday April 12, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday April 19, 2021 Union Week
Monday April 26, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday May 3, 2021
Monday May 10, 2021 Nursing Week
Monday May 17, 2021 Union Week
Monday May 24, 2021
Tuesday (due to a holiday) June 1, 2021
Monday June 7, 2021
Monday June 14, 2021 Union Week
Monday June 21, 2021
Monday June 28, 2021 Union Week
Tuesday (due to a holiday) July 6, 2021
Monday July 12, 2021 Union Week
Monday July 19, 2021
Monday July 26, 2021 Union Week
Monday August 2, 2021
Monday August 9, 2021 Union Week
Monday August 16, 2021
Monday August 23, 2021 Union Week
Monday August 30, 2021
Tuesday (due to a holiday) September 7, 2021
Monday September 13, 2021
Monday September 20, 2021 Union Week
Monday September 27, 2021
Monday October 4, 2021
Monday October 11, 2021
Monday October 18, 2021 Union Week
Monday October 25, 2021
Monday November 1, 2021
Monday November 8, 2021
Monday November 15, 2021 Union Week
Monday November 22, 2021
Monday November 29, 2021
Monday December 6, 2021
Monday December 13, 2021 Union Week
Monday December 20, 2021
NO NEW HIRE ORIENTATION WEEK OF 12/27/2021

*Revised 12/10/20. Nursing Orientation weeks shown through May only.

Helpful resources

We’ve compiled links to some helpful resources to get you started in your career with us.

Parking

The Department of Transportation and Parking is an important resource for commuting to, and traveling throughout campus. Visit the Parking website to learn about the many services offered to support employees at the University

Click below to get started registering for a parking permit.

Get a parking permit

A graphic that shows the hierarchy of the University of Rochester as an organization. UR Medicine is a subset of URMC. URMC is a subset of the University of Rochester. URMC includes the medical schools. The University of Rochester includes central administration, the rest of the academic units, and the MAG.

One University

University of Rochester organizational structure

The University of Rochester is the region’s largest employer, and is made up of a variety of areas of service, including URMC and UR Medicine. This graphic is a helpful overview for better understanding the University’s structure.

Learn more about the University

University-wide contact guide

Below, you’ll find a list of websites and phone numbers for frequently used University-wide resources. A printable version of this information lives in this PDF.

Return to the top of the page